I’ve moved! AHHH!

I’m super excited about moving my business and starting a new creative enterprise. We hear a lot about “Maker Spaces” in the creative circles I run around in, and I’m so proud to say I’ve started one with an amazing partner that has the same kind of vision I have! I’m happy to announce that The Productivity Parlour for Artful Living will be holding classes and events starting in November 2016, at 741 St. Helens Ave, Tacoma, WA 98402.

What does this mean?!? It means that instead of spending my days sad about how I don’t have time to make things, now MY ENTIRE JOB IS TO MAKE THINGS! You have no idea how thrilled that makes me. From head to toe. It isn’t just because I get to make things either, but potentially I get to help other people make things too! A Maker space is exactly that- a space that people get to create in. The Productivity Parlour for Artful Living will be a textile one. A space dedicated to textile crafts.

I don’t know how familiar you are with textiles dear reader, but that is a HUGE range of activities. From working on regular clothing, (alterations and repair) to creating grand ball gowns and wedding dresses, cosplays, historical items, and more. The potential customer base is as varied as the activities possible. From folks who need to explore alterations because they aren’t a standard fashion size and shape, to people within the varied world of re-enactment and multi-faceted fandoms, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of people who no longer have the basic skills they need to make clothing and costumes. Single moms who want to try and save money by repairing and altering their clothing, maybe someone who is attempting to dress as the gender they identify as but their body doesn’t yet match… there are so many different people who need what we want to provide, and I’m so happy to be doing this.

Talking about it makes me happy. Sitting in the space designing classes and reaching out to different communities to find amazing instructors, these things make me so happy! I hope people join me in creating things. I can’t wait to help others discover the joys of sewing and other textile crafts that I love.

One thought on “I’ve moved! AHHH!

  1. flyingoutloud11 November 9, 2016 / 2:21 am

    That’s really awesome! Congratulations. I wished that I lived closer and could patronize your business.

Leave a Reply

